My Son Was Diagnosed With Diabetes

No matter how old your children are you still worry about them. That’s just how mothers are. My oldest son Kenny just turned 51 yesterday and today I find out he had type II diabetes. I don’t know what to do! If I say anything to him he gets very upset with me. After all he is a grown man. Diabetes runs in my family. My mother had it as did my aunt and my uncle. It’s a very scary disease as any disease is. I wish there was something I could do but this is a battle he has to fight. Of course I’ll help him in any way. We all want to grow old but we want to grow old healthy, that doesn’t happen too often and I know this. I’m going to read everything I can on diabetes. As I said before I will do everything I can for him.

One thought on “My Son Was Diagnosed With Diabetes

  1. I am very sad to hear about your son. I myself struggle with the disease. I have been diagnosed as being pre-diabetic. Although some Dr’s refuse to say that and they just say I am diabetic. Either way, I take metformin 3 times a day. I am very over weight and that makes it worse. Maybe your son will come to you eventually. I have grown up with so many illness’s like asthma, and a weak immune system, I suffer with depression and I am bipolar. So for me, talking about all this is easy, you eventually become a pro at it. I hope your son embraces his disease and takes a positive attitude about it and takes hold of the knowledge you will be gaining with your research. I wish him well and you as well. I may not have children yet, but I know how you feel because so many in my family suffer from things like cancer, diabetes, and depression amongst other things. It takes time to accept reality some times. I hope he comes to you soon.

Leave a Reply

