Homeless Shelter

Yesterday I volunteered at a homeless shelter. My job was to help serve dinner. What a wake-up call ! I’m ashamed to say that I really never thought about the homeless situation. Oh sure I’ve seen them on the street but never thought much about their situation. Last night I saw hundreds of people come through the shelter. By the time I got home to my warm  bed and a roof over my head I had a difficult time falling asleep. I couldn’t stop thinking about what had happened to these people lives that they wound up in a shelter or living on the street. Where were their families, where were their friends. Wasn’t there anyone in their lives that could help them? By the time I finally fell asleep my last thought was” Thank You God!

5 thoughts on “Homeless Shelter

  1. An insightful post. In my late teens, I became mates with a lad who had left home at 17 and was sleeping rough. I had also left home but was lucky enough to have somewhere to live and let him sleep on the couch. Initially it was until he found a job, etc, after a while he just moved on. He never did tell me why he’d left home in the first place.
    A year or so later, I found myself sleeping rough. It was a difficult time, but I think it was mainly misplaced pride that stopped me asking family for help.

    People have all sorts of reasons, sometimes just a string of bad luck. Sometimes a series of poor decisions. Probably more often, a combination of those and other factors. Any way you slice it, shelter and food ought to be a basic human right in a civilized society.

    You did a very good thing by helping out.

  2. After 25 years of working with homeless people, I can tell you that the reasons they end up on the street are varied. I have seen doctors, lawyers, professors, business people and others who would surprise you out there. Most are estranged from their families by circumstances or choice. They have little or no support network. Of the people I have worked with who struggle with addictions, about half of them are on the street because of their addictions, and half became addicted because they ended up on the street and turned to drugs and alcohol to medicate their pain.

Leave a Reply

