There Is No Word To Describe A Parent That Loses a Child

2002, the phone rang early in the morning. I hate that! It was a friend of mine and she wanted to tell me that her son aged 23 died of a heroin overdose! This friend and her husband lived a normal life, raised their children in the best possible way. Always involved in their lives and she was a stay at home mother. She wasn’t supposed to get that phone call, I’m supposed to get that phone call not her! Her son had not come home for two nights, and then her phone rings, it’s the Los Angeles coroner! Her son was in the morgue and needed to be identified! How devastating would that be. I can’t even imagine. I’ve had a few phone calls like that over the years and each time your heart breaks. A person that loses a partner is called a widow, a child that loses a parent is called an orphan, but there is no word to describe a parent that loses a child. If you know someone who has lost a child take a few minutes to remember and honor them.
 
Pre-order my book “Sweet Child of Mine” read what goes on behind closed doors!
 
 
Deanna Adler
One thought on “There Is No Word To Describe A Parent That Loses a Child

  1. It’s the worst thing possible that can happen. I’ve been through a great deal of tragedy and there is nothing worse than burying a child. Mine was a baby. I’ve also thought about the fact that there is no word to describe a parent who has lost a child. I’m a recovering heroin addict and my parents and sister were waiting for that phone call too. By the grace of God, I made it into recovery after being so close to death.

Leave a Reply

